How does the missing receipts card blocking feature work?

  • Updated

Stay on top of your team's expense compliance with automatic card blocking when receipts go missing. This feature lets Owners and Admins set rules that remind team members to attach receipts, and automatically block their cards if too many receipts are missing.

Until the new packaging goes live in October 2026, it remains available with the current Expense and Spend Management add-on for Team plans. From October 2026, it will be available through the Team Spend Controls add-on, for Team plans.

The feature is available on 💻 web and 📱 mobile for the following roles:

  • Admin and Owner: Can define and manage the blocking rules
  • Cardholders: Are subject to the rules if included in the policy

đź’ˇ Good to know: When the feature is activated, it only tracks receipts missing from that point forward - it doesn't work retroactively.

 

How can I set up the missing receipt rules?

Navigate directly to the missing receipt rules section in the settings menu:

  • From the web app: âš™ Settings -> Missing receipt rules
  • From the mobile app: Menu -> âš™ Settings ->  Missing receipt rules

Set up rules to track receipts and remind your team to attach them on time using the following steps:

  • Send a weekly reminder to all team members: every Monday, all team members who need to attach a receipt to their transactions will be reminded to do it.
  • Send a weekly summary to Admins: every Friday, all Admins of the account will receive the list of transactions that are still missing receipts.
  • Auto-block cards when missing receipts Team members' cards will be blocked if they don't attach transaction receipts on time. You can customize:

    • Mark receipts as late after [X] days: the number of days that can pass after a transaction with no receipt before it's marked as "late" (missing).
    • Block cards after [X] late receipts: the number of late receipts a team member can accumulate before their card is automatically blocked.

    ℹ️ Team members and Admins will be warned when limit is approaching.

You will have the choice of applying these rules to:

  • All team members with cards, or
  • Select one or several specific people

Additionally, you can enable Apply to new team member cards automatically to include future cardholders in these rules.

 

How will I be notified if I am included in the rules?

You will receive an email and push notification. Depending on your situation, the message will read:

  • “Make sure you always upload transaction receipts to avoid your card being blocked. Check receipt rules”
  • “Your card has been blocked because you reached the limit of X late receipts set by receipt rules. To unblock it, upload receipts or contact an Admin.”
  • “You have X transactions with late receipts. If you reach X, your card will be blocked as per receipt rules.”

 

How can I know if my card is going to be blocked?

You will receive an email and push notification if the rules change by the owner or admin of the account.

  • 3 days before card blocking
  • 1 day before card blocking
  • When the card is blocked

 

How can I unblock my cards?

Two options are available:

  1. Ask your Admin/Owner for a temporary unblock (lasting a few minutes/hours)
  2. Upload the missing late receipts (card will be unblocked after processing)

 

How can I check which transactions are missing a receipt?

You can find them from both the mobile and web app:

  • Mobile app: go to Transactions → select the Missing attachments filter to see every transaction with a missing receipt.
  • Web app: go to Business account → Transactions, then select the Attachment filter and check Missing to see every transaction with a missing receipt.